Creating an Alert when a lost Endpoint device comes back online

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Creating an Alert when a lost Endpoint device comes back online

L1 Bithead

I want to create an alert and to do this, my understanding is to create a XQL query in the Correlations, to create the alert. I then can use the Automation to create the Email and text alert.

My struggle is I'm not that good with creating XQL stuff. I figured out how to look for the Host and if it has an IP, but now I need to add one more line to look for it have and IP after todays date.

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

I think this is what you want.

dataset = endpoints
| filter endpoint_status = ENUM.CONNECTION_LOST
| fields endpoint_name, ip_address, last_seen
| filter ip_address != null and timestamp_diff(current_time(),last_seen, "DAY") < 1
| alter alert_message = "Endpoint " + endpoint_name + " with IP address " + to_string(ip_address) + " came back online at " + last_seen
| fields alert_message

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

L0 Member

Hello, Dog Likes Best
XQL is a query language that enables you to analyze the data ingested into Cortex XDR and perform various security operations. Here are some sources that I found:

Cortex XDR - XQL Query Engine | Cortex XSOAR: This is a documentation page that explains how to configure and use the Cortex XDR - XQL Query Engine integration on Cortex XSOAR, which is a security orchestration, automation, and response platform. You can use this integration to run XQL queries on Cortex XDR and get the results as a table, a file, or a context output.