Add addressobject to specific device group through panorama via python

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Add addressobject to specific device group through panorama via python

L2 Linker

Ok, i will first start by saying ive never attempted anything like this before. Im an old school network engineer but times are a changing and im trying to learn how to automate simple tasks. All I need to do is promt the user to enter and IP address and then add that IP Address to a specific device group with 1 tag on it.  for example i want to add 7.7.7.7 to my firewall with the tag SFTP. So once the object hits the firewall the name would be H-7.7.7.7 and description would simply be the ticket number of the request and the ip would be learned via input and then I would automatically include the tag. ive been reading forums and other items and came up with a little script below.  This is what I have so far, but im kinda stuck now. Ive only been messing around with this for a couple of days... 

#This defines the panorama device interface to connect to and the DeviceGroup
device = ["x.x.x.x"]
devicegroup = ["mydevice"]
auth_key = "<my-key>"

#This intitaties the panorama connection 
pano = panorama.Panorama(device, api_key=auth_key)

#This defines the device group we wil be connecting to
panogrp = panorama.DeviceGroup(devicegroup)
pano.add(panogrp)

#This will set the IP address of the SFTP source to add to the Firewall 
ip_address = input('Please enter the ip address you wish to add to the SFTP whitelist, (example x.x.x.x): ')

#This will set the description of the node to the Release Ticket number
description = input("Please enter the release ticket number: ")

#This formats the name to match the existing standards in the firewall
name = ("H-"+ip_address)

#declares an object to create

sftp_server = pandevice.objects.AddressObject()