Obtaining Policy Descriptions Through the API

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Obtaining Policy Descriptions Through the API

L0 Member

Thanks for taking the time to read my message. I'm an intern tasked with writing a program that returns all device descriptions from a set of policies using the PA APIs. I'm unable to find any APIs that return the policy description - only data such as name, rule type, etc. Is it possible to obtain the description through an API call, or would I need to use a workaround method?

4 REPLIES 4

L4 Transporter
Hello You can read the rule comment (I assume that's what you are looking for) the same way as you can read src, dst, from, to, ...

Hi Jeorg, thanks for the response. I'm relatively new to working with Palo Alto, so I'm not sure what you mean by this. Would you be willing to provide a sample API call that would produce this information?

EDIT: I’m unable to find the policy description in the comment fields of any of the endpoints I’ve tried from in the API documentation. Things like src, dst, from, etc. are all there, but the specific description field is not.

Hello

Stupid me, it is "desciption" (as you already wrote).

I'm mainly dealing with the config in xpath format. This simplifies running a diff hence the scope/context is still valid.

The base xpath is "/config/devices/entry[@name='localhost.localdomain']/device-group/entry[@name='firewall_xyz']/" when using a panorama.

.../pre-rulebase/security/rules/entry[@name='access to abc']/profile-setting/group/member     default
.../pre-rulebase/security/rules/entry[@name='access to abc']/target/negate    no
.../pre-rulebase/security/rules/entry[@name='access to abc']/to/member        DMZ_Campus
.../pre-rulebase/security/rules/entry[@name='access to abc']/from/member      LAN