A Fall/Autumn Question: What is your favorite Palo Alto Networks feature?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

A Fall/Autumn Question: What is your favorite Palo Alto Networks feature?

L7 Applicator

A wrap of our summer question leads into fall or autumn, as your preference may be, wherein we ask:

What is your favorite Palo Alto Networks feature?

Did it help solve a problem you were facing?

As a former support engineer, I always like to hear when customers arrive at that a-ha moment of understanding or discovery, when the firewall does something simple and basic, or amazing and extraordinary, but always in time to solve a problem.

I'm looking forward to hearing which feature(s) of the firewall most tickle your fancy. I've got a few of my own... You first.

LIVEcommunity team member
Stay Secure,
Joe
Don't forget to Like items if a post is helpful to you!
25 REPLIES 25

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

I've got a few.

Wildfire

While you surely can't rely on wildfire for everything, I get a large amount of alerts throughout the day from users downloading dumb things, or actively seeing SMTP traffic that I can make sure was actively blocked by our spam gateway. It's amazing how much stuff Wildfire catches that I act upon on a daily basis, and how much traffic it stops throughout the day so that it doesn't even get onto the users machine. (Pair this with Traps and you have a winning combination) 

DoS/Zone Protection:

It's amazing to me how easy this feature is to configure, but yet it's one of the least utilized features on the firewall when you actually start talking to other Palo Alto customers. Most people think this is some incredibly hard thing to configure, and really if you take your time it's stupid easy. 

URL Filtering: