Cryptocurrency Mining?

L7 Applicator

Re: Cryptocurrency Mining?

Best of luck. Also CB isnt catching everything since something is running and attempting to make those call outs. If you have a next gen AV package, it might be worth a shot to install it. If you dont I like to use Immunet. Its free, cloud based, and backed by some good intel.

Highlighted
L4 Transporter

Otakar.Klier

Thank you guys for the responses.

Even though I feel this demonstrates that I am still learning and need to focus more time in reviewing our profiles, wanted to post this update for record, and others.

After reviewing with terrific PA support, I believe the issue started with the fact that our Vulnerability profile was set to default (long before I got here).  Therefore, the threat in question was processed as its default action, alert (instead of reset both).

threat39277.jpg

threataction.jpg

Seems that the traffic was able to pass and then the server in question is an Oracle Weblogic server that was not patched to resolve this exploit!

Since we had Carbon Black in place, the threat was unable to run.  One of the behaviors was a powershell script would try to run scheduled or periodically and we blocked powershell to run and monitored its attempts.

We corrected our vulnerability profile, restored the Oracle server from backup (previous to exploit) and so far we have no other powershell execution attempts and see that the threat is now identified and blocked at the firewall (reset both).

L6 Presenter

@OMatlock wrote:

Otakar.Klier

Thank you guys for the responses.

Even though I feel this demonstrates that I am still learning and need to focus more time in reviewing our profiles, wanted to post this update for record, and others.