Disable logging for specific users

Reply
Highlighted
L0 Member

Disable logging for specific users

Is it possible through rules to disable logging for specific users?  We have a child protection devision in our police dept that uses peer-to-peer and bittorrent -- which makes our threat level sky rocket.  Is there a way to prevent that traffic for those specific users from showing in ACC?

L6 Presenter

Re: Disable logging for specific users

any individual rule in your security policy can have logging enabled or disabled.

if you create a rule that matches a user or group and has logging disabled then you would accomplish your goal, but you would have no visibility into the activities of those users when they match that rule.

L0 Member

Re: Disable logging for specific users

Would the edit be under Policies > Security > Options (of the specified rule) > Under "Log Setting" uncheck both boxes?

L6 Presenter

Re: Disable logging for specific users

That is correct. If both the log @ session start and log @ session end are unchecked then we will not log any of the traffic that matches that rule.

BUT!!!!

Remember that your virus, spyware, URL filtering, data filtering and file blocking can also generate log data. make sure that the profiles used by this rule have their logging turned off as well.

-Benjamin

L4 Transporter

Re: Disable logging for specific users

The risk factor itself is not a hard figure in the sense that less or more than 4.0 is good or bad. The trend is more important.

You can disable the logging of the rules but that will reduce your visibility. If you think the risk factor of the Bittorrent (and maybe other) application is to high you can also override the risk factor within the application definition under the object tab. That way it will influence the risk factor but you will keep your visibility.

Marcel

Like what you see?

Show your appreciation!

Click Like if a post is helpful to you or if you just want to show your support.

Click Accept as Solution to acknowledge that the answer to your question has been provided.

The button appears next to the replies on topics you’ve started. The member who gave the solution and all future visitors to this topic will appreciate it!

These simple actions take just seconds of your time, but go a long way in showing appreciation for community members and the Live Community as a whole!

The Live Community thanks you for your participation!