GloablProtect

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

GloablProtect

L1 Bithead

Hello Community,

I am new to palo alto. we have deployed some firewalls in our company. I am trying to configure globlalprotect on the branch offices to add more gateways. I have an extra internet connection at one location and wanted to know if its possible to configure global protect on one of the interfaces.

the firewall is currently behind a cisco router an connect to our switch. ut i wanted to configure on interface with the the extra internet provider and configure GP. I configured the interface with the public IP and a PBF rule since I already have a default route configured. But is not responding to ping to that interface. is this possible ?

Globalprotect.PNG

2 accepted solutions

Accepted Solutions

L5 Sessionator

Another option would be to create a separate virtual router for the other ISP connection and keep the GP traffic on that. That way you can manage routing separately and not worry about PBF. 

View solution in original post

@Ralvarado10,

What @rmfalconer mentioned is one way of doing things, however not what I would do in your case as you are wasting ports. When you configure a route you will use the option "Next VR" under your next hop setting and you can pass the traffic to your primary VR without needing to dedicate a port simply to route the traffic. 

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Yes, it is possible to do what you are attempting to do.

If you are not getting pings to work, then you would need to look at your logs to see IF you FW sees the pings coming inbound from the extra ISP network (or similar).  

You would also want to confirm that you have a interface mgmt profile enabled on the 2nd FW public interface, that allows ping.

What other questions can we answer for you?