GlobalProtect access to local LAN devices

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

GlobalProtect access to local LAN devices

L2 Linker

I am fairly new to Palo Alto devices.  We are in the process of testing the GlobalProtect client and have set it up without split-tunneling.

I have confirmed this works for web browsing (get the PA NAT address), but we are still able to get to all local LAN resouces.  We are able to use local wireless printers, I am able to ping to and from the GP client on the local subnet.  Based on my previous experience with Cisco, without split-tunneling there was no access to the local LAN.  Is this how this works with PA or is something incorrect in my configuration?

Thank you,

Randy

11 REPLIES 11

L6 Presenter

Hi...There is an IP pool used for GP and this IP pool should be a new unused IP pool/range.  Make sure your LAN router has a route defined for this IP pool/range.  Thanks.

The IP pool is using a unique network that is not on the PC's LAN or overlapping with any subnets in the corporate LAN.

End User's IP 192.168.0.X/24

IP Pool 172.19.101.X/24

PA LAN 172.19.100.X/24

When the end user goes to www.whatismyip.com they are getting our NAT'd address and they are able to access corporate LAN resources, so I know split tunneling is not happening.  But they can get to their network printer on the 192.168.0.X network.  Also from another device on the 192.168.0.X I can ping the non-IP Pool address.  This piece acts like it is split-tunneled.

What do you have defined for the access route in the VPN's client configuration?  For split tunnel, you need to add only your LAN's subnet (i.e. 172.19.0.0/16) as the route.  This setting will then use the VPN tunnel for traffic destine for 172.19.0.0/16.

I am using 0.0.0.0/0 because we don't want split tunneling.  All traffic should be going through the PA.