How do I block Image search?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

How do I block Image search?

L0 Member

Hi 

I am fairly new to Palo's and I am trying to figure out how I can block search engine image searches. I know there are currently no real app-ids that cover this and just wondering if anyone has a way to block all image search results on the big search engines such as google.

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi All,

Figured it out

If you ever need to configure blocking for Image Search on Palo Alto or any particular search for Google then the Palo Alto can achieve this through URL Filtering

The Steps are as follows

Go to Objects then Customer URL Catergory

Create a New Category

Enter the following String

*/*&tbm=<Switch>&*

Where <Switch> is replace with the actual switch.

Image Search = tbm=isch

personal - tbm=pers

shopping - tbm=shop

books - tbm=bks

Video - tbm=vid

If you look at a search string in the url search, you will find that these are key switches for search results.

When completed, go to URL filtering profile, look for the newly created category and choose deny.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Hello,

So the short answer is no. But are you trying to just block our inicilt images or anything such as cars for example?

Regards,

@Pooch87,

So longer answer would be kinda