How to enable VMware Tools for the Panorama Virtual Appliance version 8.1

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

How to enable VMware Tools for the Panorama Virtual Appliance version 8.1

L0 Member

Hi!

We are in the process of installing and configuring a new Panorama Virtual Appliance version 8.1 in our VMware vSphere Cluster from an OVA file supplied from Palo Alto.

In the below information from Palo Alto regarding VMware Tools on the Panorama Virtual Appliance version 8.1 it states that it supports VMware Tools on the Panorama Virtual Appliance version 8.1!

Great I think, but how do you enable it ??????????????????????????????

I have and been scratching my head for hours ... searched information about this in help guide and on the internet but I have not been able to find any information about this.

I have been a VMware vSphere Admin for many years but I have never seen such lack of clear information regarding installing and enabling VMware Tools for an Virtual Appliance like this in a VMware platform.

Can anyone please supply information about/around how to enable VMware Tools for the Panorama Virtual Appliance version 8.1.

I/we would be very greatful.

Big thanks in advance!

Support for VMware Tools on the Panorama Virtual Appliance version 8.1

https://docs.paloaltonetworks.com/panorama/8-1/panorama-admin/set-up-panorama/set-up-the-panorama-vi...

VMware Tools is bundled with the software image (ovf) for the Panorama virtual appliance. The support for VMware Tools allows you to use the vSphere environment—vCloud Director and vCenter server—for the following:
  • View the IP address assigned to the Panorama management interface.
  • View resource utilization metrics on hard disk, memory, and CPU. You can use these metrics to enable alarms or actions on the vCenter server or vCloud Director.