Issues with both client and clientless VPN on 220 running 8.0.1

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Issues with both client and clientless VPN on 220 running 8.0.1

L3 Networker

Full disclosure: up until now, I've had zero practical experience with GlobalProtect. I've only worked with Pulse, Cisco and OpenVPN.

I just deployed a 220 yesterday with 8.0.1 and am having a heck of a time getting GlobalProtect to work in either scenario.

The Clientless lets me log in, but anytime I try to launch a published app or manually enter in a URL, it launches a new browser tab and never goes anywhere. Doesn't even time out. I know there's connectivity because I can ping the app's server from within the CLI using the trusted interface as a source (and I can access it locally from behind the PA). The only thing I can think of is I am not using the management interface, I have a service route sending everything through the trusted zone vlan).

As for the client, I finally got the client version to the point where it was giving me a certificate validation error, which according to what I've found, was potentially due to a mismatch in the cert's CN and the external gateway FQDN (which I'm not even sure I need an external gateway), but that was not the case here. I think I fixed that by just purchasing a cert from a public CA but now it immediately fails on Discovering Network saying there's a problem with the internet connection or the globalprotect network.

any ideas/help would be greatly appreciated.

8 REPLIES 8

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Can you post how you have it configured. Since you can't get either to work it would point towards more of a configuration issue. The clientless VPN is still in beta so that not working could be an actual bug, but once he client GP is working we can look at fixing that as well.