Needing all help possible to upgrade our lab from PA-500 to VM-100s

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Needing all help possible to upgrade our lab from PA-500 to VM-100s

L1 Bithead

Good morning,

I am John Hauser, a trainer for Fishnet Security, and I have been tasked with upgrading our lab environment from our old PA-500 hardware units to the VM-100 FWs.  I have very little VM experience both on the initial setup of the VM side and then also what modifications will have to be made to labs to make them work.  I have heard many comments in some of the TTT sessions that I have attended stating that are many tricks to be learned along the way.  If any one would be willing to help me get started with documentation, the lessons that you have learned, and so on, I would greatly appreciate it.  I have the one document that Blair pointed me to, but need much.  Has anyone tried to mix PA-500s and VM-100 together for a lab or are the labs so changed that it doesn't work.  I am really green at this new VM stuff. 

Thanks for any and all help offered,

John Hauser

john.hauser@fishnetsecurity.com

913-206-1255

6 REPLIES 6

L4 Transporter

L7 Applicator

I think a lot depends on what you are using the lab for on how well this works as a mixed environment.

Building out lots of simple functions is great for a VM deploy.  As long as you have enough vlans available to trunk into the VM host to provide the required separation for all the nodes.

The major drawback to the VM series is the feature parity.  As long as you don't need to lab up the HA or other unsupported features all should work well.

Steve Puluka BSEET - IP Architect - DQE Communications (Metro Ethernet/ISP)
ACE PanOS 6; ACE PanOS 7; ASE 3.0; PSE 7.0 Foundations & Associate in Platform; Cyber Security; Data Center

Steven,