PA-220 Issues with Routing between LANs (Layer 3)

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

PA-220 Issues with Routing between LANs (Layer 3)

L1 Bithead

Hello everyone!

I am brand new to Palo Altos and firewalls in general, so I'm sure I have made a couple obvious mistakes, but hope to learn.  I have inherited a PA-220 that is now needed to be put in place between us and other connections (no internet).  I have followed multiple tutorials, manuals, etc. to try and get this setup to work.  The plan is to get the zones connecting and routing correctly, then tighten up security so only the approved things go through. Here's the proposed layout.

PlanFirewall.PNG

Right now, I'm just trying to get the two test PCs on the 192.0 zone and the 10.50 zone to ping.  I'll add in the 192.168 zone later when I get the first two working.

Here's what I know:

1) The security policies are fine.  I have tested them on a virtual wire version of the setup (with the two test PCs on one subnet) and the only thing I've changed is making the zones layer 3.

2) The test PCs can ping their interfaces, but no further. (e.g. 192.0.0.90 can ping 192.0.0.100 but NOT 10.50.75.100 or 75.90).

3) When using the console port, I can ping the interfaces from each other, but not any further out. (e.g. 192.0.0.100 can ping 10.50.75.100 but NOT 10.50.75.90).

4.) Also with console port, the interface can ping it's connected pc (e.g. 192.0.0.100 can ping 192.0.0.90).

5.) Traffic gets logged in the monitor for the pinging from the console port, but not from the PCs.

It is almost as if the ping request goes to the interface and gets lost.

Config:

Interfaces: 

Ethernet1/5 - Layer 3, Management Profile allows Ping, IP Addy 192.0.0.100/24, VR default, tag untagged, vlan none, security zone 192