Problems with the Apps/Threat Database

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Problems with the Apps/Threat Database

Not applicable

Recently my developers are complaining about some aspect of their site development that is failing. Long story short, I had to roll-back to the 307 version of the apps/threat database to get the site to work again. I'm not a programmer and barely know the Palo Alto environment, so bear with me. Quite simply I can reproduce the problem by trying to access an XML file from the trust side of the firewall. With 307. the XML code pops up, with 314 (or 313) the XML will not come up. This XML file apparently controls the app, hence the app fails similarly, a hang.

How do I trouble-shoot this? Where in the Palo Alto can I see either something being blocked or dropped? This app is rtmp based and I can see ther has been a lot of work relative to some Adobe applications upon which my app is based.

Basically, I am stuck due to lack of knowledge. I'm working with PA support, but am also looking to see if any others have seen issues going forward to 313/314 of the apps/threat database.

Thanks Very Much

2 REPLIES 2

L6 Presenter

Check the threat log and traffic log (search for source ip of the client being used) to find out why the flow was blocked.

In order for this to work you must have a "deny + log" rule in the bottom of your security rules (otherwise there is just a deny rule which is hidden which means that no logging occurs on denied traffic).

When you find out which threatid this xml is being identified as you need to find out if the xml really is bad or not. You can read some about the threat in the Threat Vault: http://wwapps.paloaltonetworks.com/ThreatVault/