Route & Path Selection

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Route & Path Selection

L3 Networker

I have a Cisco backround & I am currently studying Virtual Routers & Static Routes in the PA 8.0 admin guide.  I am trying to understand how Metrics are used in the firewall because it sounds like Administrative Distance does the same thing.  Can someone tell me if my theory is right when it comes to Palo Alto forwarding packets to an intended destination.  Here is my assumption below...

I am assuming that if traffic hits a virtual router & there are multiple routes to the same destination address the Palo Alto will first prefer the route with the most specific destination prefix (longest prefix match) and if the prefix's are the same for all routes the Palo Alto will prefer the route with the lowest Administrative Distance & if the Admin Distance is the same for the for all routes the Palo Alto will prefer the route with the lowest Metric.  Is this theory correct?

10 REPLIES 10

L7 Applicator

There is only metric in the actual routing tables. 

PAN uses the term administrative distance to set the default metric per protocol for the virtual routers when you create them.

Steve Puluka BSEET - IP Architect - DQE Communications (Metro Ethernet/ISP)
ACE PanOS 6; ACE PanOS 7; ASE 3.0; PSE 7.0 Foundations & Associate in Platform; Cyber Security; Data Center

@pulukas

Thanks for the feedback.  So if Metric exists in the routing table & Admin Distance does not that would mean that if I had 2 static default routes (1 going to ISP-A the other going to ISP-B) I would need to lower the Metric on one static route & raise the Metric on the other static route in order to choose which ISP I would send the internet traffic trhough correct?

L2 Linker
@MarioMarquez wrote: