Unable to find interface configured in vm machine in vmware

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Unable to find interface configured in vm machine in vmware

L1 Bithead
I’m new to Palo Alto VM series deployment and it’s the new project .. we’re trying to deploy Palo Alto HA in VMware environment . Deployed ovf template and configured management interface . Connected to GUI and all looks ok . But I’m not able to configure any other data interface because there is no other interface available in Palo Alto . But it’s added in virtual machine with vmxnet3. Show interface all command shows 0 as the number of interface .

Rebooted multiple times didn’t do any good in this case . Any one has clue why this not showing any interface . I don’t think I’m the first one to face this problem . Looking for some urgent help .
6 REPLIES 6

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

@Hari007,

Have you since restarted the guest or are you trying to do this with the guest OS running? 

If you’re asking whether I powered off during interface configuration , yes I did power off guest while configuring interfaces . After then restarted twice . No luck

In fact secondary vm was configured with all the required interfaces beforehand I turn on the VM first time . Even that has same issue.

@Hari007

So this can depend greatly on which version of pan-os you're configuring, as some of the settings I'm about to give you haven't been need for a bit. 

1) In the .vmx file verify that all ethernet"X".virtualDev values are set to vmxnet3 instead of e1000. Earlier PAN-OS images defaulted to e1000 instead of vmxnet3 adapters. 

2) The virtual switch attached must be set to Accept the following; again some of this is no longer needed depending on the version. 

- Promiscuous mode

- Mac address changes

- Forged trasmits (Layer2, Virtual Wire, or tap interfaces)