Integrating MineMeld with IBM QRadar

L0 Member

Integrating MineMeld with IBM QRadar

Hi,

I am new to minemeld. I went through the documentation for integrating minemeld with qradar. Succesfully added the TAXII feeds in Qradar.

I couldnt see any values getting populated in reference set defined in Qradar or updates shown in threat intellegence TAXII configuration section in qradar.

Regards

Thanzeer

L7 Applicator

Re: Integrating MineMeld with IBM QRadar

Hi @thanzeeer,

please could you post a screenshot of your NODES view ?

Thanks,

luigi

L1 Bithead

Hi.

I believe there is an issue with the IP feed within TAXII.

As per documention for setting this up, you create an IP reference set, now this type of reference set can only contain individual host IP's and not ranges, CIDRs etc.

When comparing the normal output lists (I have duplicated my TAXII output into a standard output) I can see this uses IP ranges (or CIDRs if you use ?tr=1), if this is the same as what is contained within the TAXII feed then this will not work within QRadar.

As an example, my TAXII feed has several thousand indicators, however within QRadar it is only processing 4 indicators. I believe what I have mentioned above is the cause.

Can you confirm if this is the case and if there is anyway around it?

L7 Applicator

Hi @JordDurh,

please note that TAXII DataFeeds work differently from the plain text feeds generated by MineMeld. See this answer for the difference:

https://live.paloaltonetworks.com/twzvq79624/board/message?board.id=MineMeldDiscussions&message.id=4...

The MineMeld TAXII DataFeed node will generate CIDRs if the miner generate IP ranges or CIDRs. Otherwise single IPs are generated.

Thanks,

luigi

L1 Bithead

Thanks!

Any pointers as to where to get details on how to change the miners from abbreviating into CIDRs? I've tried to find this but not been able to.

L7 Applicator

Hi @JordDurh,