Updated Certifications for PAN-OS 10.1

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
L4 Transporter

Updated certifications for PAN-OS 10.1Updated certifications for PAN-OS 10.1


Palo Alto Networks recently launched Complete Zero Trust Network Security to deliver comprehensive network security outcomes and go beyond our role as an industry security leader.


The latest innovations focus on four core capabilities:


  • Cloud Identity

  • SaaS Security

  • Web Security

  • ML-Powered NGFW Platforms


Education Services is proud to release updated certifications based on our new 10.1 updates. The PCNSA and PCNSE certifications have gone through extensive changes as they cover the latest innovations in our Next-Generation Firewall. Both advanced-level certifications test and assess on various capabilities in firewall administration and engineering.


Each certification represents a distinct skillset, audience, and purpose. Read more to learn about what makes these certifications distinguished and unique for comprehensive network security training.


Palo Alto Networks Certified Network Security Administrator (PCNSA) 


The PCNSA certification validates the knowledge and skills required for network security administrators responsible for managing and operating Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls. The latest 10.1 update focuses on administration and security policy, tightly aligning to the security administrator role and serving as the logical prerequisite for Prisma Access.


Content changes on the latest version of PCNSA were fairly minimal as domains were split up and moved around to better reflect tasks. In 10.1, the PCNSA focuses on five different domains instead of six. Starting off with Palo Alto Networks Strata core components, the PCNSA also tests on Device Management and Services, Managing Objects, Policy Evaluation and Management, and Securing Traffic.


Read more about Palo Alto Networks Certifications and Micro‑Credentials, and checkout the PCNSA Study Guide.



Palo Alto Networks Certified Network Security Engineer (PCNSE)


The PCNSE certification validates the knowledge and skills required for network security engineers that design, deploy, and troubleshoot Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls. The latest 10.1 update focuses on implementation of new and advanced features.


Content changes on the latest version of PCNSE were significant enough to warrant a beta exam. The amount of domains remains the same, but domains have been combined, renamed, and added. Several topics previously covered in both PCNSA and PCNSE have now been moved solely to PCNSA. Topics including BPA and Heatmap have been moved from PCNSA to PCNSE.


Read more about PCNSE 10.1 and check out the PCNSE Study Guide.



Hear from our Subject Matter Expert on the newest attributes the 10.1 version of PCNSE will bring:


"PCNSE 10.1 solidifies the skills necessary to manage Palo Alto Networks Firewalls and Panorama devices at scale. The exam includes the features and changes to default behavior introduced with PAN-OS 10.1 including improvements to Panorama, App-ID, User-ID, Content Inspection, URL Filtering, and SD-WAN. Additionally, the exam is organized in a way that highlights what skills an engineer needs to plan, deploy, manage, maintain, and troubleshoot our Firewalls. Furthermore the exam includes testing the ability to navigate the WebUI but also make use of CLI to gather information, make changes, and diagnose issues."

—Ivan Heredia, Professional Services Architect


"PAN-OS 10.1 is packed with lots of new features. Highlights are new possibilities to SaaS Security with the App-ID Cloud Engine (ACE), to maintain an audit history for compliance purposes in tracking administrator activities, to schedule configuration push from Panorama to managed firewalls, to manage multiple identity sources with the Cloud Identity Engine, an Advanced URL Filtering based on cloud-based ML-powered web security engine and two new hardware firewall series."

— Marc Meckel, Systems Engineer



Find out more information about certifications on LIVEcommunity's Education Services page or Palo Alto Networks' Certifications and Micro‑Credentials resources page.



L0 Member

The following topics describe how to configure Palo Alto Networks® firewalls and appliances to support the Common Criteria and the Federal Information Processing Standard 140-2 (FIPS 140-2), which are security certifications that ensure a standard set of security assurances and functionalities. These certifications are often required by civilian U.S. government agencies and government contractors.

L1 Bithead


I can't see content update in beacon.paloaltonetworks. Are you can share the link with us ?

L0 Member

With the recent update from PAN-OS 10.0 to 10.1 is the PCNSA Study guide document found here in Beacon still sufficient?

Community Team Member

10.0 was not updated to 10.1, Please understand that PAN-OS versions come in pairs.. 

8.0 and 8.1 

9.0 and 9.1

10.0 and 10.1

Sometimes there are .2's but those are rare. 

So, when it comes to the 10.0 guide, that is still valid, and they might have a 10.1 guide soon.

Register or Sign-in