Create site to site VPN tunnel PA-850

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create site to site VPN tunnel PA-850

L1 Bithead

Hello,

I am a novice administrator that has been tacked with getting our site to site vpn tunnels migrated from our legacy ASA to our new PA-850.

I believe i have the IKE gateways and IPSec tunnels configured properly.

Where i am stuck is how to set up "encryption domains" (the IP addresses that are allowed to communicate accross the tunnel), and the phase 1 and phase2 security. 

7 REPLIES 7

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Hi @JimSlifko ,

Here is a great document that walks you through S2S VPNs.  The "encryption domains" are the Proxy IDs.  Proxy IDs are used for policy-based VPNs.  They are not needed for route-based VPNs.  (If you have a crypto map with an access-list, it is policy-based.)

https://knowledgebase.paloaltonetworks.com/KCSArticleDetail?id=kA10g000000ClGkCAK

On the ASA, the phase 1 parameters are not tied to the tunnel.  A good command to use to see the exact algorithms used is "show vpn-sessiondb detail l2l filter ipaddress <peer-ip>".  If the tunnel is up, you will see the algorthms.

Thanks,

Tom

Help the community: Like helpful comments and mark solutions.

L7 Applicator

IKE Gateway - Phase 1

IPSec Tunnel - Phase 2

It is essential that crypto settings need to match at both ends for tunnel to come up.

Palo don't care about encryption domains as it uses route based vpn.

Encryption domains can be configured in IPSec tunnel config. It is called ProxyID in Palo.

If you have tunnel to device that supports route based VPN then you can leave ProxyIDs empty (Palo will send 0.0.0.0/0).

If tunnel is between ASA and Palo then encryption domains you configure in ASA need to be matched under ProxyID in Palo.

Enterprise Architect, Security @ Cloud Carib Ltd
ACE, PCNSE, PCNSI

L5 Sessionator