Any way to cange the MAC Address on the Untrust interface in PanOS 4.1.2?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Any way to cange the MAC Address on the Untrust interface in PanOS 4.1.2?

L0 Member

Hello,  Im new to PaloAlto and am using PanOS 4.1.2 on a PA-500.

I was wondering if there is any way to change the MAC address on the WAN Interface so that my IP address stays the same.

Currently I have several systems in my home lab and if my MAC address changes, I will receive a new IP address which will cause me some issues.

I know that the advertised MAC address can be changed on other firewalls from other manufacturers, but I cannot find the way to change it in PanOS.

Any help in much appreciated.

11 REPLIES 11

L6 Presenter

According to the https://support.paloaltonetworks.com/index.php?option=com_pan&task=dl_tech_doc&filename=PA-4.1_Admin... (unless Im blind or something 😉 PAN currently doesnt support changing the mac-address of the physical interfaces.

However it seems to be somewhat supported when enabling IPv6 for a particular interface (page 93 in the linked pdf). But the explanation in the manual can also be that the mac-address wont change when using IPv6, only how the last 64 bits of the IPv6 address will look like (if not set then EUI-64 method will be used).

I guess the recommendation would be if you contact your SE and file this as a feature request (unless someone else in here have a tip?).

L7 Applicator

The Short answer is No, there is no way that we support changing the MAC address like that.

The Longer answer is that it sounds like you do not want the MAC Address to change, because of NAT is changing it and then change it back so it has its original MAC address.