Decryption Breaks Palo Alto Dynamic Updates

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Decryption Breaks Palo Alto Dynamic Updates

L3 Networker

I'm having an issue where my Decryption policy is breaking my Palo Alto Dynamic Updates.  When I turn on decryption, and then attempt to download an Antivirus, Applications and Threats, or Wildfire update, I'm given the message "Invalid content image, Failed to download file". 

When I turn decryption off, the updates work perfectly.   This seems odd to me because SSL Decryption Exclusion already has predefined exclusions for these Palo Alto services, such as wildfire, etc. 

Otherwise, my decryption policy is working as expected and doing its job.  

I'm reading through the PAN OS Admin Guide documentation, as I'm new to PA and this is my first NGF setup.  Any suggestions on how to fix this would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

Randy

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

I was able to fix the issue using SSL Decryption Exclusions!  The necessary FQDN's to exclude I found here: https://knowledgebase.paloaltonetworks.com/KCSArticleDetail?id=kA10g000000CljDCAS

I just copied and added everything listed as per the screenshot attached below.

Now downloads work perfectly, with decryption turned on!

Thanks everyone for your input!

Randy

Screen Shot 2021-04-28 at 12.04.19 PM.png

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Hi @RSteffens ,

Have you tried to disable "Verify update server identity" under Device > Setup > Services?

I know it is not good idea to disable this, but you can try to see if you disable it for a moment, can you get updates.