GlobalProtect remote access - some pointers

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

GlobalProtect remote access - some pointers

L2 Linker

Dear All,

I'm relatively new to Palo Alto firewalls and I am attempting to implement GlobalProtect to provide remote users with access to our internal network through the Palo Alto firewall and I am striggling to get even the most basic system working, so I wonder whether I could ask for some pointers for anyone who has got a working GlobalProtect remote access environment.

The problem I currently have is attempting to establish which authentication method should work successfully.

I have been attempting to get RADIUS working, but this appears not to work with our Active Directory, the authentication fails for both CHAP and PAP and looking on the AD security log, I see an error that states "The user attempted to use an authentication method that is not enabled on the matching network policy." As I have spent over a week on this trying various combinations of setup, I have decided this is not the way forward.

I just tried LDAP, but broke the firewall outbound Internet access, as I also use LDAP for user to group mappings in security policies, and creating a second LDAP server profile and authentication profile caused that mechanism to fail and block Internet access for all users for some reason I do not yet understand, so that feels a risky way to proceed.

I am now trying Kerberos, but it is not clear to me whether this is a viable authentication method for authentication to the GlobalProtect portal / gateway for a laptop out on the Internet.

Can anyone please provide some pointers as to which authentication method is likely to work in this scenario?