High CPU on fresh minemeld ansible install

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

High CPU on fresh minemeld ansible install

L1 Bithead

Hello, I just installed minemeld on Ubuntu 18.04 (with a few tweaks from here) and the setup was working. But now I have a VM that consumes 2 full CPUs since about 30 minutes. When I try to login to the admin web interface I get after a few seconds the message "error checking credentials - timeout" in the right top corner and nothing happens.

Is this normal? I don´t think so but as I am new to minemeld everything is possible...

Brgds Andreas

7 REPLIES 7

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

@Deas.h,

No this isn't expected behavior at all and it shouldn't be pegging the CPU even only really old hardware. If you log into the server run 'top' and see what is actually consuming the CPU. 

Hello,

no - this is no old hardware...

Those are the two processes that are constantly on top:

minemeld 99.7 2.5 /opt/minemeld/engine/current/bin/python2.7 /opt/minemeld/engine/current/bin/gunicorn -w 1 -b 127.0.0.1:5000 --worker-connections 500 --access-logfile - --error-logfile+
minemeld 59.1 0.6 /opt/minemeld/engine/current/bin/python2.7 /opt/minemeld/engine/current/bin/supervisord -c /opt/minemeld/supervisor/config/supervisord.conf --pidfile /var/run/minemeld+

This is USER, %CPU, %MEM, COMMAND

Brgds Andreas

Not even one reply? 😞

Is there a ova file available to get a working installation?

Brgds Andreas

@Deas.h,

I never saw the update that you had posted, sorry about that. Neither supervisord or gunicorn should be overloading your CPU unless something is failing; I would look at your supervisord.log and search for any WARN or CRIT that may be generating. Just FYI, 18.04 isn't actually supported, 16.04 is. You can make it work, but it isn't actively tested.