How can I see what is being blocked?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

How can I see what is being blocked?

L2 Linker

Hello, I am new to Palo Alto... Which report will show what is being blocked? Do I create a Custom Report for that? I am really just interested in seeing what Palo Alto is blocking at this point. We just put it into service last Friday as strickly a Threat prevention/ anti-malware device for now and would like to show the boss - whom I had to convince to buy this - that we are blocking what we said we'd block.

Thanks in advance!

6 REPLIES 6

L4 Transporter

There are basic reports under the monitor tab that run every night around 2 to 4 AM.

You can also create custom reports and have them emailed to you daily.

I would look under the Threat Reports for what you are interested in.

L2 Linker

Take a look at  Monitor/traffic reports     Denied Sources, Denied Destination, unknownTCP, UDP sessions

Hope it helps.

Leo

You wanted to know how to log traffic that is denied. The default deny policy for zone to zone does not log those sessions that are denied by the default denies.

To log this traffic all you need to do is create an any to any default deny or create explicit zone to zone deny policies.

This policy must be place at the bottom of all your policies.

L6 Presenter

by default PAN firewalls don't log the traffic that is blocked by the implied block rule (remember that there is an implied block rule at the bottom of your security policy).

if you want to log "all the rest of the traffc" (ie. traffic that isn't blocked by an existing rule) then you would need to add an explicit block rule to log the blocks that are, by default, done as part of the implied rule.

a rule with the characteristics listed below could be placed at the bottom of your policy list and that would do the trick: