New Comer

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

New Comer

L1 Bithead

Hi Im new to working with Palo Alto, and I im process of configuring a new Pa-820, I wanted a lttle infomation and help. 

1) Do you have to create a return rule if you want the return traffic back from the destination back to your source address. Or will the firewall just allow the traffic if it recived the first packet from the source address.

I wanted to know in the case of the rules below woul i need to also create the seccounf rule below from the server back to the client or will the firewall just allow the return traffic with out the rule.

NameSource Destination  ApplicationServiceaction
 ZoneaddressZoneaddress   
Client to Server-DNSVwire-1 192.168.1.2Vwire-2192.168.0.2dnsUDP 67-68Alow
Server to Client-DNSVwire-2192.168.0.2Vwire-1192.168.1.2dnsUDP 67-68Alow

Also is the rules hit from the top down.

Thanks in Advance

6 REPLIES 6

Community Team Member

Hi @kev91234 ,

As with statefull firewalls, if the return traffic is a response to the same session then you won't need the 2nd rule.  The firewall keeps track of the state of network connections and will allow return traffic.

However, if both ends are going to initiate traffic then you will have to allow both ways.

Yes, rules are processed top down.

Cheers !

-Kiwi.

LIVEcommunity team member, CISSP
Cheers,
Kiwi
Please help out other users and “Accept as Solution” if a post helps solve your problem !

Read more about how and why to accept solutions.

@kiwi wrote:

Hi @kev91234 ,

As with statefull firewalls, if the return traffic is a response to the same session then you won't need the 2nd rule.  The firewall keeps track of the state of network connections and will allow return traffic.

However, if both ends are going to initiate traffic then you will have to allow both ways.