Newbie looking for some guidance

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.
Palo Alto Networks Approved
Palo Alto Networks Approved
Community Expert Verified
Community Expert Verified

Newbie looking for some guidance

L1 Bithead

Hello everyone.  I am new to Palo Alto firewalls.  We have bought many new PA-440's and I am having trouble with my very first installation.

I have a site that is currently using a TP-Link AX1500 router.

Very simple setup.... ISPmodem----WANportOfAX1500/LANportOfAX1500----Clients.

I have tried, without success, to mimic the setup of the AX1500 and replace it with the PA-440.  I have the PA-440 acting as a DHCP server.  My clients get IP addresses, and then can ping the PA-440.  They cannot ping anything on the Internet.  From the PA-440 command line, I also cannot ping anything on the Internet (ping host 8.8.8.8 for example).

I know this post leaves many questions, but is there a guide on a very basic setup like this?  I am sure I am missing something small but have been unable to put my finger on it.

Thank you -- Walter

8 REPLIES 8

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

"ping host 8.8.8.8" sends ping requests out from Palo mgmt interface.

For this to work mgmt interface needs to be connected, NAT and security policy need to be in place.

Do you see those sessions under "Monitor > Traffic"?

By default "interzone-default" and "intrazone-default" rules don't log so it is suggested to override them and check "Log at session end" on Actions tab.

You can also try "ping source 1.2.3.4 host 8.8.8.8" (replace 1.2.3.4 with your WAN IP).

In this case ping goes out from WAN interface. NAT is not needed and by default "intrazone-default" rule will permit this traffic.

If you share output of your results we can help you get them connected.

Enterprise Architect, Security @ Cloud Carib Ltd