PA-3020 log retention period
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PA-3020 log retention period

L1 Bithead

Hi Experts,

I am quite new to Palo Alto and I have some queries regarding the URL filter log retention, before we can generate user activty reports for browsed URLs for more than two weeks old, but now we can only see URL filter logs up to no more than 4 days.

What affects the log retention period and how can we generate a month old User Activity report for a specific user if logs are not present anymore.

19 REPLIES 19

Community Team Member

Hi @Ernest_James,

The ACC also offers the information on 'Rule Usage' :

Rule UsageRule Usage

Cheers !

-Kim.

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

@Ernest_James Traffic which matches your policy will definitely affect your device.  If possible you might want to modify what you log and when as far as URL logs.

For one function my company uses a 3020 pair and we've got logs back before the 20th.  So if you've got a specific requirement it might be worth reallocating storage capacity from one log type to another.

3020_URL Log.JPG3020_Storage.JPG

@kiwi

I do not see rule usage on my ACC, maybe im using a different version.

@Brandon_Wertz

Quotas:
system:                     4.00%, 3.356 GB
config:                      4.00%, 3.356 GB
alarm:                       3.00%, 2.517 GB
appstat:                   6.00%, 5.034 GB
hip-reports:            1.00%, 0.839 GB
traffic:                    32.00%, 26.850 GB
threat:                    16.00%, 13.425 GB
trsum:                      7.00%, 5.873 GB
hourlytrsum:           3.00%, 2.517 GB
dailytrsum:              1.00%, 0.839 GB
weeklytrsum:          1.00%, 0.839 GB
thsum:                     2.00%, 1.678 GB
hourlythsum:          1.00%, 0.839 GB
dailythsum:             1.00%, 0.839 GB
weeklythsum:         1.00%, 0.839 GB
userid:                     1.00%, 0.839 GB
application-pcaps: 1.00%, 0.839 GB
extpcap:                  1.00%, 0.839 GB