RDP access to private servers behind Palo Alto

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

RDP access to private servers behind Palo Alto

L1 Bithead

Hello, I am new to Palo Alto and I would like help in configuring RDP access to a server in the private network  for testing purposes. I have  gone through several articles but cannot seem to get it to work. Below is my config. Any help is greatly appreciated. 

NAT Policy:

Original Packet:

Source Zone: untrust

Destination Zone: untrust

Destination Interface: eth 1/1

Service: Any

Source Address: Any

Destination Address: Public IP address of the Firewall

Translated Packet:

Source Address Translation: None

Destination Address Translation:

Translated Address: Private IP address of the server or subnet of the private network/Also tried public IP

Translated Port: <blank>

Security Rule

Source Zone: untrust

Source Address: any

User: any

Destination Zone: trust

Destination Address: Public IP address of the firewall

Service: RDP

Action: Allow

Log: end

5 REPLIES 5

L4 Transporter

Hello @Linford 

Your two policies look OK. You review the Monitor Log traffic when you testing the access from external Networks? 

Translated Address: Private IP address is the correct

You check if another policy block the trarffic ? You check if your Nat and Security policy do it a Match/Hit ?

You have checked review if the endpoint local Firewall/IPS an other security sofware can block your request to RDP ?

Cheers

High Sticker