Shutting down/disabling subinterfaces

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Shutting down/disabling subinterfaces

Not applicable

I am very new to the PANOS world so I will apologize in advance if this is obvious, however my search of documentation and knowledebase did not yield anything. I have been looking for a way to administratively shut down sub interfaces. Is this possible? While it's easy enough to shutdown a physical interface by assigning it's link-state we're not seeing a way to do the same for an individual sub-interface.

11 REPLIES 11

L5 Sessionator

Hi Scourge,

We do not have an option of shutting down a sub interface as its logical in nature. We could however, select "none" zone for the sub-interface or "none" virtual router or both, if you do not want traffic to ingress/egress via this sub interface.

Hope this helps

BR,

Karthik

L6 Presenter

Hi,

Subinterfaces are logical interfaces and they do not have link state as I  know.

Why do you need that option ?

It's a very useful feature when you are replacing existing equipment for example. The ability to disable a subinteterface would allow you to assign and commit an ip address that would potentially conflict with an existing piece of equipment. When you're ready to cut over you can just disable the interfaces on the old equipment and enable them on the PA firewall. This is why there's a concept of administrative shutdown in the cisco world for example.

You have a valid point, but we do not have that feature as of today on the box. You can contact your Sales Engineer for this enhancement request and he can apply one for you on your behalf. Till then you have to work around it with the steps that I mentioned before.

BR,

Karthik

Thanks. I appreciate your feedback!

Has there been any advance on this?

Last message was 2013.