Trying to block only certain websites using 3.1.6

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Trying to block only certain websites using 3.1.6

L2 Linker

I need some help. I am very new to using firewalls and am not scheduled to go to class for Palo Alto until the first week of September. In the mean time I am trying to block a group of users from accessing the internet other than about 10 sites. I have tried everything I know how to do and even stuff I am just trying to figure out to do and I get it to block all sites but not let the ones through I need it to let through. I would appreciate any help anyone can give.

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

Not applicable

Are you using active directory? or will you be blocking users by IP?  (this will come in handy later)

First, I would recommend upgrading to 3.1.9, since there are some bugs that I encountered in 3.1.6 and 3.1.8 with URL filtering. There are some guides on the support site that make the upgrade pretty painless.

Before you start writing the rules, go to Objects -> Security Profiles -> URL Filtering rules.

Create a new URL filtering profile.

After you give the url filtering profile a name and description, check the dynamic URL filtering box.

Near the bottomf of the window, you will a box called "allow List". Enter the 10 URL that you wish to allow.

Now, on the right you will see all the different categories. Go to the very top and find the option "Set for all categories". Under the column "action" set it to block. This means that all the websites in all the categories will be blocked by the PAN.

Then click ok.

You have a new URL filtering profile that blocks all categories but allows the 10 URL that you have in your whitelist.