User Activity Report - Username not available for report

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

User Activity Report - Username not available for report

Hi All,

This is my first time posting, so if I am doing it wrong, please let me know. I have attempted to find relevant documentation, but nothing I have found actually seems to describe my issue.

I had a request for an activity report for a user to be generated today - normally this process is quite easy and issue free; this time however, when I entered the domain account associated with the user in the User Activity Report 'Add' dialogue, it did not auto complete like it normally does.

I persisted with the report, and clicked 'Run Now' and sure enough, there was not data in the report.

I did a write a filter which mimicked my User Activity Report parameters in the URL Filtering dialogue and it returned results
    e.g. ( user.src eq 'username' ) and ( receive_time geq '2015/10/22 08:30:00' ) and ( receive_time leq '2015/10/22 10:30:00' )

Thanks in advance,

Brad

EDIT: Spelling

5 REPLIES 5

L4 Transporter

There could be a couple explanations

1-does this same report work for another user name

2-are you sure that this user is generating traffic during that time period?

...(sometimes make sure it is a large enough time period first)

3 - spelling counts - this is often my mistake

4 - it may be that however the user is accessing the LAN/WAN/Internet user-ID is not catching them

...(so is it a standard desktop etc that others use for same purpose-and User-ID grabs their traffic)

the document you may want to peruse is User-ID Best Practices

https://live.paloaltonetworks.com/t5/Configuration-Articles/User-ID-Best-Practices-PAN-OS

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Instead of using afilter, how about using the predefined Source User or Destination user fileds?