User-ID - Active Directory Keeps Sending Domain DNS and NetBIOS DNS

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

User-ID - Active Directory Keeps Sending Domain DNS and NetBIOS DNS

L2 Linker

Hi Community,

Having a headache of an issue lately and I believe it to be an issue on the customer environment rather than a setting configuration on the firewall, or software issue in PAN-OS e.g.

I've little experience with enterprise active directory so I learn as I go.

At the moment, customer has been using the Domain DNS for User Domain settings on Authentication Profiles and Group Mappings.

I plan to change this and make sure to use the NetBIOS in place of the domain DNS for User Domain settings in Authentication Profiles and Group Mapping settings.

PAN-OS 9.0.8

Global Protect 5.1.3

Windows Server: Not Sure

In the customers environment, certain subnets, be it wired or wireless,  the ip-user-mapping are picked up as sometimes lan.corp.com/user or corp/user.

Therefore, an ip-user-mapping of lan.corp.com/user isn't recognized as being part of the AD group corp/webaccess  and security rule is never hit.

Same user will then remove the wired connection, will be picked up on a different ip-address via Wifi but is now seen on the firewall as corp/user, is seen inside AD group corp/webaccess and hits the rule, gaining web access.

Again issue happens when users try to authenticate from home via Global Protect. 

Verifying with command [ > tail follow yes mp-log authd ] users authentication will fail because lan.corp.com/user is not inside AD group globalprotect .... user will try again and again until eventually they are picked up as corp/user.

I've searched almost all of LiveCommunity, Fuel User Group and Support Portal Knowledgebase to see if this has come up before.