Using Global Protect Internally - Several Questions

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Using Global Protect Internally - Several Questions

L1 Bithead

I am fairly new to the world of Palo Alto, so I apologize if this is answered elsewhere. My team is looking at an implementation scenario, and I have several questions as a result. I figured this community would be the best place to start.

We are currently looking to implement Global Protect internally, as a possible replacement for Cisco NAC for our individual system posture checking. We are aware that this isn't true port level security as NAC is, but think it may be a suitable replacement because of the functionality it has. I have recently implemented GP for external connections to our DR site, so I am familiar with the setup in that scenario, and the overall general setup of the solution. Our idea is to filter all traffic through PAs, peforming posture checks on individual systems and allow access once HIP match passes.

We are looking to set up a POC of this, using one floor on one wing of our building, consisting of about 200 users. Some of our questions center around how best to accommodate wireless traffic. This is internal traffic, not guest, our own users on wifi. We are a Cisco wireless customer, using Cisco WLCs for our clients. Would it be best to route traffic from the WLCs to the PAs to authenticate users, perform HIP check, and pass traffic? Is this where Captive Portal might come into play?

Additional questions revolve around what type of access individual systems will have, and how best to control traffic. The way I am understanding it, all systems would have access to each other until the posture check is done. That is, they will connect to an open VLAN, communicate to the primary PA GP Gateway, and then be passed on once the posture check is done.