Using Users instead of Groups in Policies - Help please

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Using Users instead of Groups in Policies - Help please

L1 Bithead

Hello all,

I'm new to PA but I'm really enjoying it...anyway, I've read everything I could find aboud group mappings, and one very good link is https://live.paloaltonetworks.com/t5/Featured-Articles/Getting-Started-User-ID/ta-p/69321 .. but it only show how to use a group in a policy.

Is it possible to use a "user" instead of a group in a policy? It seems I can only manage to retreive group info (user-id ip mappings are working through an Agent).

Thank you

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

Ok, I feel ashamed now..... It was working all along,  I just needed to start typing the username for it to recognize because by default the users don't appear on the list :|:|:|:|:| Not really intuitive 😕 .. days lost!!!

user.png

I really appreciated your help on this guys, sorry for the wasted time.

Best regards

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

L6 Presenter

Yes, I'm able to build a security policy using a specific user ID and not just a security group.

Thank you for your reply Brandon, can you please elaborate a bit more on how you did it? Am I missing something ? On the Staff group I have users inside (Staff1, etc)

GroupMapping.pngspolicyrule.pngGroupMappingConf.png

Thank you in advance

Generally speaking you would want to include the user domain in your Server Profile, it looks like you would have zearthlink. Try giving that a shot and see if it gives you options to your user list; it may also be a good idea to verify that you actually have the right permissions setup, PAs require more permissions then most server admins would feel is necessary so often times I see them not actually have every permission that they need.