VPN IPSEC secondary peer

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

VPN IPSEC secondary peer

Hello,

I have a vpn ipsec in production, now I have to add a secondary remote peer.

It's my first time I have to configure a 2nd peer.

If I understood well I can't simply add a seocndary peer to the VPN but I have to configure a new psec but the difference is the static route related the remote network.

Example I should have:

Remote net: 10.1.0.0/24

Route 1 10.1.0.0/24 metric 10 Tunnel.1

Route 2 10.1.0.0/24 metric 20 Tunnel.2

If the primary peer stop responding how I can turn off the Route 1?

The tunnel.1 and .2 don't have an ip and the inside int of the PA it's not included in the local network

Can I add an ip to Tunnel.1 like 192.168.1.1 and nat it with the external IP of the PA and set the Path monitor of the "Route 1" like
Source:192.168.1.1
Destination: Primary Peer
So the Route 1 ping the Primary peer If the peer stop responding the PA remove from the routing table the Route 1 and the Secondary VPN start working because the Route 2 it's the only active.

7 REPLIES 7

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Hi @ChristianBolelli ,

Yes, you need to have separate VPN tunnel with secondary peer IP and  you need to assign the IP to the tunnel interface. You just need to make sure that the IP that you are assigning to the tunnel interface should be from your local network which is part of tunnel encryption domain. Basically that source IP should be reachable towards the destination servers over tunnel. If you are doing NAT for the existing tunnel traffic, then you need to do  NAT for tunnel interface IP also. This traffic will travel till destination via tunnel.