Wiping out any changes in candidate config

Announcements

ATTENTION Customers, All Partners and Employees: The Customer Support Portal (CSP) will be undergoing maintenance and unavailable on Saturday, November 7, 2020, from 11 am to 11 pm PST. Please read our blog for more information.

Reply
Highlighted
L2 Linker

Wiping out any changes in candidate config

From Device Management, if I "Revert to last saved config" does this simply revert back to the previously committed or saved config? ie it just wipes out any unsaved changes to the candidate config?

Is there any impact in doing this?

I simply want to wipe out the current candidate config.

Cheers,

Shannon

Tags (2)

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
L5 Sessionator

ShannonRowe

You are welcome :smileyhappy:.

It will not have any impact on the traffic.

Thanks

View solution in original post


All Replies
Highlighted
L5 Sessionator

Hi ShannonRowe

If you just want to remove the changes done in candidate config select the option "Revert to running config" it will discard all the uncommitted changes

Thanks

Highlighted
L2 Linker

Hi,

Thanks for your super fast answer. can you confirm there is no impact to traffic flowing through the devices while doing this?

Cheers,

Shannon

Highlighted
L5 Sessionator

ShannonRowe

You are welcome :smileyhappy:.

It will not have any impact on the traffic.

Thanks

View solution in original post

Highlighted
L7 Applicator

you have the option to save configurations at any time during the candidate process.  The revert to last saved is used to go back to a fallback point that is in between the current running configuration and your current candidate configuration.

None of these operations, revert to running or revert to save affect traffic at all.

Steve Puluka BSEET - IP Architect - DQE Communications (Metro Ethernet/ISP)
ACE PanOS 6; ACE PanOS 7; ASE 3.0; PSE 7.0 Foundations & Associate in Platform; Cyber Security; Data Center
Highlighted
L2 Linker

From CLI, configuration mode, one can load last committed configuration (i. e. running configuration) with load config version - Tab will display version number and date/time when the configuration was committed.

Highlighted
L0 Member

Hi, 

Just as an addition to the reverting last saved configurations. If we are just doing this to remove the changes in the candidate configuration, will this impact network performance?

 

Kind regards

James Leishman

Like what you see?

Show your appreciation!

Click Like if a post is helpful to you or if you just want to show your support.

Click Accept as Solution to acknowledge that the answer to your question has been provided.

The button appears next to the replies on topics you’ve started. The member who gave the solution and all future visitors to this topic will appreciate it!

These simple actions take just seconds of your time, but go a long way in showing appreciation for community members and the Live Community as a whole!

The Live Community thanks you for your participation!