Using new MineMeld file hash indicators?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Using new MineMeld file hash indicators?

L1 Bithead

I see that new indicator types for file hashes (MD5, SHA256, SHA1, SSDEEP) were added in MineMeld 0.9.26 this is awesome, but should those indicator types be selectable from the ( NODES > ADD INDICATOR > TYPE ) drop down menu?  I don't see them listed so I'm just trying to figure out how to employ the use of these new indicator types.  I'm still very new to MineMeld so still getting familiar and testing it out so my apologies if this is off-base...

Also, does anyone know if we will be able to export AutoFocus file hashes into export lists to leverage them in MineMeld?

7 REPLIES 7

L7 Applicator

Hi @DrewDixon,

currently the only Miner producing hashes is the VirusTotal retrohunt Miner.

Next release (0.9.30) will have better coverage for hashes.

Do you have suggestions for new feeds of hashes we should cover ?

Thanks,

luigi

Hi @lmori,

First I just wanted to say thanks for all the great work creating MineMeld and for your part in making it open source!

Would you perhaps have any more info on the VirusTotal retrohunt Miner?  Does this pull *all* of the malicious file hashes from VirusTotal or some or how does that work?

Thanks for asking on suggestions, I absolutely have a few:

1.) Team Cymru Malware hash registry would be a great one to have a miner available, it looks like they want open source uses/implementations to reach out to them first like they state here in this page (http://www.team-cymru.org/MHR.html)