PAN-OS 8.0 Blue team help (In a little over my head)

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

PAN-OS 8.0 Blue team help (In a little over my head)

L0 Member

I joined my schools cyber defense team last week, and subsequently volunteered to manage the firewall (Palo Alto VM version 8.0.0). I was supposed to have until the 23rd to learn as much as I could. However, due to scheduling conflicts we were moved to tomorrow. So, I need some help.

Luckily it just so happened that on Veterans Day Palo Alto Networks opened up a massive learning lab for veterans (thank you!), and because I am a veteran I have been able to learn quite a bit. So I figure I will just follow the chapter on "best practices for securing administrative access" in the manual? Along with closing every port except 80 and 443 (which are required as part of the rules)

1. Should I disable SSH and PING? I don't have the time to learn the CLI commands and since I KNOW we will be getting attacked this just seems like a security risk.
  2. The best practices says not to allow access over Telnet and HTTP. I don't plan on using Telnet, but does the firewall auto configure for HTTPS when you are signing in "locally?" Or will I need to create my own certificates?
    1. My only firewall experience is pfSense which I am very comfortable with, but pfSense this is not lol.

Tomorrows event is a practice invitational (thank God). But the rules are the same as the actual competition that will take place in February. We cannot bring anything electronic into the room, only paperwork. However, if it is online and publicly available then we are free to use it (github etc)

Sorry for the long post, but I think it warranted a bit of an explanation. Thank you for any help

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Hello,