How to add Windows DHCP logs to enrich Assets data

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

How to add Windows DHCP logs to enrich Assets data

L1 Bithead

Hi Everyone,

I am totally new to Cortex XDR and trying out the latest Pro version. What I wish to do is simple and I saw others discussed about it. But I really really need clear instructions on how to do that. In the All Assets list, we wish to get more information about assets that don't have XDR agent installed, besides their IP addresses. It would be good to know their system names, OS and MAC address.

After reading much documentation and forum posts, I already enabled Agent and Broker ping scans but they only return IP addresses.

I figured the best way is to install an XDR collector on the DHCP server(we are using a Windows Server) that we have and analyze DHCP logs with Filebeat. I followed all the steps in the documentation but it's still showing IP addresses only. When I create an XDR Collector installer, does it also include Filebeat or Filebeat package has to be installed on the DHCP server separately? How does one know if/when XDR Collector or Filebeat is reading DHCP logs or not?

Thank you.

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

L4 Transporter

Hello @PhyoWaiSoe 

Thanks for reaching out on LiveCommunity!

XDR collector already contains the Filebeat package, you do not need to install it separately. To check incoming data please ensure that XDR collector is in connected state. Then you can use XQL query language to query data to following datasets.