Internet and internal network sepration via virtual router

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Internet and internal network sepration via virtual router

L1 Bithead

Hello,

I am new to Palo Alto. I have basic question. 

Traditional setup I worked on my last project was as below,

VRF on cisco router for 

- Internet -0 bgp

- Production - bgp

- DMZ  - bgp

FW connects to all 3 VRF. Route between VRF is via FW.  FW harden the access. 

New project with PA and L2 switch for the same setup.

My idea is 

create 3 x Virtual routers on FW ( Internet, Prod, DMZ)

and one policy for all of it. 

However, what is the best way to route the traffic between VR with all the policy applied?

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Hi @gondolf ,

The cyber policy requires 3 VRs on the NGFW or just the router?  They are fine on the router.  They are generally not needed on the NGFW.  Some cyber security analysts think that separate routing tables provide an extra layer of security.  The problem is that in order for it to work you have to route between the VRs, thus breaking the isolation.

Your router is different where an external device routes between VRFs.  The NGFW does not require VRs to do so, only 3 separate zones and interfaces.  VRs on the NGFW only increases the complexity without increasing the security.

@OtakarKlier is correct.  KISS is not only a good design principle, but an architectural guideline for the Internet.  https://datatracker.ietf.org/doc/html/rfc3439  There is a link in there that says 80% of outages are caused by people or process errors.  Complex designs increase those opportunities.

If you HAVE to do it on the NGFW:

1. Create 3 different VRs.
  2. Route between them with the next hop pointing to the VR and not an IP or interface.