Peer certificate chain building failed due to unable to get local issuer certificate

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Peer certificate chain building failed due to unable to get local issuer certificate

L0 Member

Hello,

This is my first post here as I am a new customer of PaloAlto, but not new to networking. I have extensive Cisco background.

We are having an odd problem when trying to create an IKEv1 s2s tunnel between a remote PA220 and Cisco ASA 5525X headend. The PA outside interface has a dynamic address.

We have worked on this issue for days now and even opened a case with PA Support.

We are getting this error on the PA side:

IKE phase-1 negotiation is failed. Peer certificate chain building failed due to unable to get local issuer certificate

In the logs obtained in the CLI, we are seeing this information:

2020-04-23 09:28:06.066 -0400  [PERR]: Trusted CA not found for '/C=US/O=DigiCert Inc/OU=www.digicert.com/CN=DigiCert Global Root CA' because of subject issuer mismatch.

2020-04-23 09:28:06.066 -0400  [PERR]: Peer certificate chain building failed due to unable to get local issuer certificate.

I have verified that the certificate chain for the public cert being used on the Cisco ASA headend is intact and complete.

Any ideas??? We have scoured the internet for solution/clues on both sides, Cisco and PA, to no avail.

Thanks in advance.

John

9 REPLIES 9

L0 Member

John,

I'm in a similar position.  I will be following this thread closely.  Thanks for posting.

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite