Can Panorama managed devices be configured via the CLI?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Can Panorama managed devices be configured via the CLI?

L4 Transporter

Hey folks.

I'm adding a Panorama server into my infrastructure to enable zero touch SDWAN provisioning, and since I've never done Panorama before, I've got a question.

Can panorama managed devices be configured via the CLI?

The reason I ask this is that I do a fair bit of work with AWS and VPC's - and configuring a new VPC into AWS is mostly done via a script that AWS provides which you modify to suit your environment and cut and paste into your firewall via CLI to configure the IPSec tunnels and routing involved.

I *could* go through the script and add the required sections via the GUI - but doing it via CLI is so much easier.

So once I add my firewalls into Panorama, does anyone know if can I still do the configuration via CLI? or will I be forced to transpose everything into the GUI and push it to the firewalls that way?

Thanks for any insight

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Good Day

For the most part... 99% of what you can do in the GUI can be done in the CLI.

That being said... it is much easier to use the GUI, especially when this product is designed to create "snippets" or templates, as they are called in Panorama.   These templates are whatever configuration (limited to Network and Device tabs on FWs).  So think about login banner, domain name, dynamic update scheduling, authentication servers, interface management profiles, etc)

In addition, the Panorama also is used for Device Groups (Policy and Object tabs in FWs), so think in terms of shared best practice policies, shared objects, shared content ID profiles, etc.

So yes, it is all possible to do via the command line or API commands if you like.