Disk space usage not going down when deleting projects

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Disk space usage not going down when deleting projects

L2 Linker

I've been using Expedition for a couple years now and previously when I deleted old projects the disk space used would go down. Recently I installed a new instance on Ubuntu 20 and used the Transfer Assistant Tool to transfer my projects to the new instance of Expedition. Everything seemed to go smoothly, the new instance of Expedition disk size grew to about the same size as my old instance of Expedition. Everything seems to work fine with the new instance except for the disk space used doesn't seem to go down when I delete old projects.

Anyone have any tips on what to check to free up disk space?

5 REPLIES 5

L6 Presenter

@HowsThisWork Could you please verify if the projects you deleted was in 

/home/userSpace/projects , if it is , when you deleted the project , the hard drive space should have more free space.  If it's in other location, you might need to manually remove the files from CLI. 

L4 Transporter

Hello @HowsThisWork 

After performing a "sudo apt-get update" you are removing the unused files with autoremove correct? Generally these files are low in space however the could build up on your root folder. Also to what Lynn suggested verify the project is deleted from the folder path.

I didn't look where the projects were stored before I noticed this problem, but I see my current projects are stored in /home/userSpace/projects. Currently I only see directories for the projects I expect to see, in other words, I do not see any project directories for projects that I transferred from my previous instance of Expedition and have since deleted.