Connecting to VPN Windows network profile changes to "Domain network" for the phys. network adapter

Announcements

Changes to the LIVEcommunity experience are coming soon... Here's what you need to know.

Reply
tigeli
L1 Bithead

Connecting to VPN Windows network profile changes to "Domain network" for the phys. network adapter

Just noticed that with Globalprotect 4.1.x the network profile changes to from "Public" or "Private" to "Domain network" for physical network adapter and not just for the VPN adapter while being connected to GlobalProtect service. Also when the VPN session is disconnected the physical adapter profile does not change but instead stays as "Domain network"-profile. On 4.0.x this does not happen.

 

This is clearly a security issue as one can have different firewall rules for Public/Private/Domain network profiles and having "Domain network"-profile being assigned to network adapter connected directly to Internet is not something I would want. I did not found any documentation for such a behavioural change in the documentation. Anyone else having this issue?

 

GP 4.0.8GP 4.0.8GP 4.1.8GP 4.1.8

 

 


Accepted Solutions
tigeli
L1 Bithead

It seems that this is caused by the optimized split tunneling feature (domain, https://docs.paloaltonetworks.com/globalprotect/4-1/globalprotect-app-new-features/new-features-rele...) when the configuration includes the AD-domain (eg. *.domain.ltd) to be routed over the VPN tunnel.

View solution in original post


All Replies
tigeli
L1 Bithead

It seems that this is caused by the optimized split tunneling feature (domain, https://docs.paloaltonetworks.com/globalprotect/4-1/globalprotect-app-new-features/new-features-rele...) when the configuration includes the AD-domain (eg. *.domain.ltd) to be routed over the VPN tunnel.

View solution in original post

Like what you see?

Show your appreciation!

Click Like if a post is helpful to you or if you just want to show your support.

Click Accept as Solution to acknowledge that the answer to your question has been provided.

The button appears next to the replies on topics you’ve started. The member who gave the solution and all future visitors to this topic will appreciate it!

These simple actions take just seconds of your time, but go a long way in showing appreciation for community members and the LIVEcommunity as a whole!

The LIVEcommunity thanks you for your participation!