Firmware 4.0.8 to 4.1.8

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Firmware 4.0.8 to 4.1.8

L4 Transporter

I am new to Palo Alto firewalls and I am hoping this a quick easy question for somebody who is more familiar with them. I would to like to upgrade my PA500 to latest firmware. It looks like the latest release is 4.1.8 (I am using 4.0.8). I have downloaded 4.1.8 to the firewall. Once I click install on 4.1.8, will that require a reboot of the firewall? I am assuming yes as every other vendor's firewall I have worked does require a reboot. How long should I expect the install/reboot to take? If it does require a reboot is there a way I can schedule the firewall to install the update during non production hours? Also, is there anything I need to know about updating from a 4.0 version to a 4.1? I can't find ANY of the details in the dozens of documents I have read. Any help on this would be appreciated. Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5

L6 Presenter

Yes switching firmwares will require a reboot.

In your case running 4.0.8 I think the recommended way of upgrading would be to first download and install (and reboot into) 4.1.0, and then do the same from 4.1.0 into 4.1.8 (or whatever 4.1 version you might want to use - 4.1.9 is the latest currently).

Or while you are at it, go straight to 5.0.x ?

Thanks for your answer. One other related question. During the update/reboot process, will my HA or standby PA be updated as well or do I have to jump on it and update it separately? I am hoping it's part of the process. That would be pretty lame if it didn't do it automatically.

You will have to update the standby unit on its own for obvious reasons.