Help setting up a rule to block all traffic at night

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Help setting up a rule to block all traffic at night

L1 Bithead

OK, I'm new to firewalls in general and I inherited our Palo Alto PA500 with PANOS v5. I"m trying to set up a rule that doesn't let any traffic in or out of the building from 7:00 pm to 7:00 am. Currently my boss has a rule that the last person out unplugs the internet from the LAN. I find this to be ridiculous and insist that we can do something with the firewall and allow access between our servers over night for transfers. So I set up a policy in Policy > Security called Nightly Lockdown that denys anything. Source and destinations set to any and its run on a schedule I made. I go home, go to logmein and I can log right into our computers. So I then set up specific zones to use, again I can log right in. I even tried to specifically add Logmein to the deny list to no avail. What am I doing wrong? I don't really feel like opening a support case to resolve this. I don't know what else to try though.

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

L7 Applicator

Hello Acole,

Could you please segregate the schedule into 2 parts as mentioned below:

[ 19:00-23:59 ]

[ 00:00-07:00 ]

Few related docs:

How to Schedule Policy Actions

How to Create a Schedule that Spans Two Days

A continuous session, that was previously initiated during the permit time should not block when the allowed schedule runs out. Until and unless, if you enable "rematch sessions" and then commit the configuration, then only existing sessions would be rematched to policy (and blocked in this case if the schedule dictates that action).

Policy-rematch.JPG.jpg

Thanks

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

L4 Transporter

Hi acole,