Interface 'configured but down' after delete

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interface 'configured but down' after delete

L1 Bithead

I started setting up an additional interface, decided it wasn't necessary and deleted it (it's configuration, anyway).

After (more than one) commit action, it still shows up in red with the status 'configured but down'

I'm not aware of any problems resulting from this--it's more of a distraction-- but I don't understand why this would be happening.

TIA,

Simon.

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

L6 Presenter

Please give this a try to clear interface type.  For example, to get rid of e1/3 which is in the zone “tapzone”, do this on the CLI:

·        configure

·        delete zone tapzone network tap ethernet1/3

·        delete network interface ethernet ethernet1/3

-      commit

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

L6 Presenter

Please give this a try to clear interface type.  For example, to get rid of e1/3 which is in the zone “tapzone”, do this on the CLI:

·        configure

·        delete zone tapzone network tap ethernet1/3

·        delete network interface ethernet ethernet1/3

-      commit

Thank you, that seemed to work. I tried it almost verbatim (substituting my interface# of course).

Is the zone 'tapzone' a hidden zone of some kind or was really meant to substitute one of my own zones?

Either way it worked - the interface line wasn't showing a zone anyway before the delete.

Si.

Had you assigned a zone for that deleted interface, you can use the delete zone command to remove the zone setting.  In your case, you didn't so the command was not necessary.

Glad that it worked for you.  Cheers.

  • 1 accepted solution
  • 8995 Views
  • 3 replies
  • 0 Likes
  • 101 Subscriptions
Like what you see?

Show your appreciation!

Click Like if a post is helpful to you or if you just want to show your support.

Click Accept as Solution to acknowledge that the answer to your question has been provided.

The button appears next to the replies on topics you’ve started. The member who gave the solution and all future visitors to this topic will appreciate it!

These simple actions take just seconds of your time, but go a long way in showing appreciation for community members and the LIVEcommunity as a whole!

The LIVEcommunity thanks you for your participation!