Issues with Webpages Hanging

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Issues with Webpages Hanging

L1 Bithead

Hi All,

I'm new to Palo Alto and have been having issues with content loading on my network.  Across the network, webpages that are being loaded in browser will periodically hang and as soon as the user refreshes them they load right away.  Also video streaming and image viewing applications appear to behave the same way in that a user will try to load content, can't, will restart the application and then the content will load up fine from the internet.  I'm using the VM-100 and have alocated plenty of RAM and CPU for the VM.  Have looked at security policies but they appear to be fine.  Any suggestions on where to look next would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

1 accepted solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi All,

I've discovered that having the services in my Security Policies set to "application-default," is what causes the issue.  Defining this myself fixes the issue.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

L6 Presenter

Hi...A couple of things that you can check:

- Ethernet port speed/duplex mismatch

- If you are using URL filtering, FQDN objects, maek sure the DNS server(s) are configured and reachable by the PA.

- Make sure the mgmt port of the PA can get out to the Internet for content updates

Thanks,

None of those appear to be an issue.  Maybe MTU setting?

You can take a packet capture to see if there are many fragmented packets which would point to MTU.  

Do you have proxy that would affect the cachin of web contents?

Are you seeing similar symptom for other traffic like FTP, SSL, etc? 

Just a DNS proxy.  It's most obvious when streaming video or loading images.