Layer 1+2 decisions for PA820 HA pair

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

Layer 1+2 decisions for PA820 HA pair

L1 Bithead

This is my first time having the luxury of two ISP's and redundancy in all hardware - I was tryingt to research best practice for wiring the PA pair as active/passive router/nat - I found some mentioning of using port channels to achieve local redunancy, but I don't see much info on it, doesnt seem widely used.

Please see image below about my thoughts of physical and logical.

Some said it would be much simpler if I just ran each ISP through one router direct to one port and let PA do the BGP, but to me that still doesnt solve redundancy on the trunk links to the core - would be nice to just use Port channels, guess it could just be by secondary route interface (was thinking RSTP probably not a good plan).

any comments and suggestions appreciated

2isp_asr_pa820_6840_wiring.PNG

6 REPLIES 6

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Hello,

Looks like a good drawing. What purpose do the Routers serve? Also is there a need to have the switches between the routers and the PAN's?

Me personally I like to keeps things as simple as possible. So for me it would the the ISP devices directly into the PAN's and from the PAN's to the 6840's. obviously I dont know you physical layout, ie different buildings etc that could be a factor.

Regards,

Thank you for your response - the original idea was to have full hardware redundancy, both routers handle BGP to both ISP's - one of the uses of the routers is some specific policy routing for certain traffic which I have had a hard time doing on PA in the past (that might just have been me) - and also, our corporate mothership requires a few things (they spec'd most of the hardware except the PAs).