management interface & service route configuration

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Please sign in to see details of an important advisory in our Customer Advisories area.

management interface & service route configuration

L0 Member

Hello
I am new in palo alto, I did a self-training
I would like to have more details about the relation between the management interface and the service route configuration
I have a little bit stuck on when to use the route configuration service
I think there are some webgui ways to manage the AP:
-directly connect a pc to Mgmt interface
-connect mgmt interface to switch with dedicated vlan
- connect mgmt interface to switch in the same vlan as the data interfaces
how to enter the concept of service route configuration in the above cases.
I know that the management interface is used by the FW PA to go on the internet and retrieve updates,...etc, but sometimes there is a need to use the service route configuration to point into the service in the LAN data
I have some ambiguities to master this concept and the why and how of the thing.
thanks

2 REPLIES 2

Cyber Elite
Cyber Elite

Thank you for the post @Toufik

Basically by default all communication that Firewall will initiate will be over management interface. In the case you for what ever reason can't use management interface, you can change all services to communicate via data plane interface instead of management interface. You can also do it selectively based on service you want to communicate over data plane interface. Here is KB: https://knowledgebase.paloaltonetworks.com/KCSArticleDetail?id=kA10g000000ClGJCA0